Secretary Brown names chairs of criminal justice council committees

April 29, 2008 

FRANKFORT, KY – Justice and Public Safety Secretary J. Michael Brown has named chairpersons of each of five committees created to review specific issues that impact incarceration rates. 

The announcement came during a meeting of the Kentucky Criminal Justice Council as it continued its work developing strategies to curb the growth rate of the commonwealth’s prison population. 

Committees and their chairs are: 

Sentencing Committee (review Kentucky’s sentencing practices, including but not limited to KRS 439; sentencing enhancements and disparities; persistent felony offender statutes; and various published sentencing reports). Chair: Charles Geveden, Deputy Secretary, Justice and Public Safety Cabinet; 

Penal Code Committee (general review of Kentucky’s penal code for statutory changes). Chair: Chris Cohron, President,  Kentucky Commonwealth Attorneys Association; 

218A Committee (specific review of controlled substance statutes for uniformity, proposed changes, and the advisability of controlled substance statutes becoming part of the penal code). Chair: Greg Howard, Commissioner, Department of Kentucky Vehicle Enforcement; 

Corrections, Probation and Parole Committee (review of current inmate population, including aging and infirm prisoners; possible alternatives to incarceration; statutes and practices relating to probation and parole, including but not limited to KRS 439; Kentucky’s violation and recidivism rates; and disparities within the system).  Chair: LaDonna Thompson, Commissioner, Department of Corrections; and 

Pre-trial Release Committee ( review criminal rules regarding bail, actions of pre-trial officers and judges, and policies to accomplish release after arrest in a timely and efficient manner).  Chair: The Honorable Kelly Easton, chief regional circuit judge, Green River Region. 

Chairs will appoint members of their committees, which will begin meeting immediately to prepare recommendations for consideration by the full council. 

Comments are closed.