Attorney General Conway Names 2010 Outstanding Commonwealth’s and County Attorneys

Office of the Attorney General
Attorney General Conway Names 2010 Outstanding Commonwealth’s and County Attorneys

Press Release Date:  Thursday, August 26, 2010  
Contact Information:  Shelley Catharine Johnson
Deputy Communications Director
502-696-5659 (office)  


Attorney General Jack Conway today presented the awards for the 2010 Outstanding Commonwealth’s and County Attorneys at the Kentucky Prosecutor’s Conference at the Lexington Convention Center. Nearly 800 prosecutors, Commonwealth’s Attorneys, County Attorneys and staff from across Kentucky are attending the three-day conference sponsored by the Office of the Attorney General.

The recipients of the 2010 Outstanding Commonwealth’s Attorney Awards are:

Linda Tally Smith, Commonwealth’s Attorney for the 54th judicial circuit representing Boone and Gallatin Counties since 2000;

Jim Crawford, Commonwealth’s Attorney for the 15th judicial circuit representing Carroll, Grant and Owen Counties since 1989; and

G.L .Ovey, who serves as Commonwealth’s Attorney for the 56th judicial circuit representing Caldwell, Livingston, Lyon and Trigg Counties since 1988.

Upon presenting the awards to Smith and Crawford, General Conway said, “There are many reasons why Linda and Jim deserve this award – chief among them is the job they did serving as special prosecutors in the drunken- driving death of one of our fellow prosecutors. Doug Wright, Commonwealth’s Attorney from the 18th judicial circuit, died last year after a truck driver who was under the influence hit him while he was driving home from work. Linda volunteered to prosecute the case and chose Jim to assist her. A jury recently convicted the driver of wanton murder. I appreciate the time and effort Jim and Linda put into this case and every case that comes across their desks.”

When presenting Ovey’s award General Conway said, “G.L. is a former president of the Commonwealth’s Attorneys Association, a current two-term member of the Prosecutors Advisory Council, and a veteran prosecutor who has argued some of the most difficult cases in the history of his circuit. Recently he prosecuted Kevin Wayne Dunlap, who killed three children and stabbed and raped their mother before setting the home on fire. G.L. secured guilty convictions and a jury returned a recommendation of six death sentences.”

The recipients of the 2010 Outstanding County Attorney Awards are

Jeff Edwards, Marshall County Attorney since 1997, and

Tom Weddle, Casey County Attorney since 1986.

“Jeff is a dedicated member of the Prosecutors Advisory Council. In addition to being active in his profession, Jeff is active in his community. He is a local businessperson, past president of the Kiwanis Club and past chairman of Four Rivers Behavioral Health in Benton,” General Conway said.

Of Weddle, General Conway stated, “Tom is a true gentleman. He takes pride in serving the people of Casey County as their County Attorney. Tom previously served as Master Commissioner of the Casey Circuit Court. Tom’s warmth and insight are appreciated by his peers and his constituents.”

Photos of this year’s award winners are available on the Attorney General’s website:

Comments are closed.