There may be three new faces on the KBA Board of Governors next year.
John David Meyer of Owensboro replaces a sitting Board Member. In Louisville Douglas Farnsley did not run for re-election. His seat drew two nominees. Ann Oldfather was nominated and is the better known than her opponent Amy Cubbage.
In Northern Ky. challenger Larry Hicks will face off against Board Member Stephan Smith. Smith is employed by a large Cincinnati Law Firm and is not well known outside of Kenton County. Hicks is a popular attorney from a small law firm in Edgewood, Ky.
Section 4 (c) of the Bylaws of the KBA provides all nominating petitions for candidates for the Board of Governors shall be received by the Executive Director at the Kentucky Bar Center prior to 5 p.m. on the last regular business day of the month of October. If only one candidate is nominated in a Supreme Court District, he or she shall be declared elected to that office and the Executive Director shall at once so certify to the Board and the candidate. The election of the following KBA members to the Board of Governors was certified November 1 for a two-year term beginning on July 1, 2013:
1st Supreme Court District Michael Pitman, Murray
2nd Supreme Court District John David Meyer, Owensboro
3rd Supreme Court District Howard O. Mann, Corbin
5th Supreme Court District William R. Garmer, Lexington
7th Supreme Court District Earl M. “Mickey” McGuire, Prestonsburg

Pursuant to Section 9 of the Bylaws, elections will be conducted in the following Supreme Court Districts with candidates for election listed alphabetically:
4th Supreme Court District Amy D. Cubbage, Louisville
Ann B. Oldfather, Louisville

6th Supreme Court District T. Lawrence Hicks, Edgewood
J. Stephen Smith, Fort Mitchell

Ballots will be mailed December 15 to each KBA member in good standing entitled to vote in that election and must be received by the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Kentucky no later than January 15.

Leave a Comment: