The Kentucky Bar Association’s 2013 Annual Convention was one for the record books, with a total of 2,253 attorneys registering for the three-day event at the Galt House Hotel & Suites in Louisville, outpacing a record established at the 2010 Annual Convention in Lexington with 2,120 attendees.

Awards presented during the Annual Convention include:

Distinguished Judge Award – U.S. District Judge John G. Heyburn II of the Western District of Kentucky, Louisville
Distinguished Lawyer Award – John Rosenberg, AppalReD founder, Prestonsburg
Chief Justice’s Special Service Award – Maria Klyza, retired staff counsel, Supreme Court of Kentucky, Paris
Justice Thomas B. Spain Award – Joe C. Savage, The Joe C. Savage Law Firm, Lexington
Bruce K. Davis Bar Service Award – Brent R. Baughman, Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP, Louisville
Donated Legal Services Award – Linda A. Smith, Kentucky Innocence Project, Frankfort
Nathaniel A. Harper Diversity Award – Drusilla V. Bakert, retired Dean of Admissions at UK College of Law, Lexington
Outstanding Young Lawyer Award – Kevin Burke, solo practice, Louisville
Young Lawyer Division Service to Community Award – Nanci M. House, White McCann & Stewart, PLLC, Winchester
Service to Young Lawyers Award – Pierce Hamblin, Landrum & Shouse, Lexington
YLD Outstanding Executive Committee Member Awards – Tiffany Bowman, Bluegrass Cellular, Simpsonville; Eric Weihe, Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC, Louisville
New KBA officers sworn into office during the Annual Banquet on Thursday, June 20, include President Thomas L. Rouse, Erlanger; President-Elect William E. Johnson, Frankfort; Vice President Douglass Farnsley, Louisville; Immediate Past President W. Douglas Myers, Hopkinsville; and Young Lawyers Division Chairman Carl N. Frazier.

Board governors who received their oath of office include Michael M. Pitman, Murray, 1st Supreme Court District (SCD); John David Meyer, Owensboro, 2nd SCD; Howard O. Mann, Corbin, 3rd SCD; Amy D. Cubbage, Louisville, 4th SCD; William R. Garmer, Lexington, 5th SCD; J. Stephen Smith, Ft. Mitchell, 6th SCD; and Earl M. “Mickey” McGuire, Prestonsburg, 7th SCD.

Other Kentucky Bar Governors recognized for their continuing service were Jonathan Freed, Paducah, 1st SCD; Thomas N. Kerrick, Bowling Green, 2nd SCD; M. Gail Wilson, Jamestown, 3rd SCD; Douglas C. Ballantine, Louisville, 4th Supreme Court District; Anita M. Britton, Lexington, 5th Supreme Court District; David V. Kramer, Crestview Hills, 6th Supreme Court District; Bobby Rowe, Prestonsburg, 7th SCD.

Also honored were retiring KBA President Myers; Immediate Past President Margaret E. “Maggie” Keane, Louisville; outgoing YLD Chair Jackie Sue Wright, Maysville; retiring Bar Governors Richard Hay, Somerset; Serieta Jaggers, Princeton; and R. Michael Sullivan, Owensboro; 2013 Annual Convention Planning Committee Co-Chairs Douglass Farnsley, John W. Bilby, and Bobby Simpson, all of Louisville; and CLE Committee Chair Richard Hay.


Photos from the 2013 Kentucky Bar Association Annual Convention in Louisville are available for download and can also be purchased in a variety of print sizes. To view the photos, please follow the instructions below.

Click on the following link:
Type in the password: justice
Click on the thumbnail image of the desired photo.
Once the image is accessed in a larger format, an option to download the image or purchase prints will be available directly above it.
If you have any questions regarding the photos, please email KBA Communications Director Amy Carman at


Platinum Gavel Sponsors

Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company of Kentucky (LMICK) and the National Insurance Agency (NIA)
Gold Gavel Sponsors

Dinsmore & Shohl 
GE Home & Business Solutions and Wyatt Tarrant & Combs 
KBA Criminal Law Section
Stites & Harbison PLLC 
Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC

Silver Gavel Sponsor

Middleton Reutlinger
For more convention coverage, be on the lookout for the upcoming issue of the Bench & Bar!

Leave a Comment: